Skip to main content

Jackson Hole Finance Group

17th Jackson Hole Finance Group Conference

Jackson Hole, WY January 13 – 15, 2024



Snake River Lodge & SPA

Friday, January 12
5:30 – 6:30 p.m. Welcome Reception


Saturday, January 13
7:30 a.m. – 7:45 a.m. Breakfast in Sundance
7:45 a.m. – 8:25 a.m. Session I: Growth

Opening remarks:
Session Chair:

Appropriated Growth by Yuchen Chen, Xuelin Li, Richard Thakor, and Colin Ward


4:45 p.m. Cocktails in Sundance
5:00 .pm. – 6:20 p.m. Session II: Crypto and Social Media
Session Chair:

Anatomy of a Run by Jiageng Liu, Igor Makarov, and Antoinette Schoar

Finfluencers by Ali Kakhbod, Seyed Kazempour, Dmitry Livdan, and Norman Schurhoff

6:45 p.m. – 8:45 p.m. Conference dinner – Gamefish Restaurant (Snake River Lodge & SPA) / Sponsored by Society for Financial Studies


Sunday, January 14
7:00 a.m. – 7:15 a.m. Breakfast in Sundance
7:15 a.m. – 8:35 a.m. Session III: Borrowing and Trading 
Session Chair:

The Value of Undrawn Credit Lines (link to follow) by Jason Donaldson, Naz Koont, Giorgia Piacentino, and Victoria Vanasco

AI-Powered Trading, Algorithmic Collusion, and Price Efficiency by Winston Dou, Itay Goldstein, and Yan Ji


4:45 p.m. Cocktails in Sundance
5:00 p.m. – 6:20 p.m. Session IV: Monetary Policy
Session Chair:

Monetary Policy Transmission Through Online Banks by Isil Erel, Jack Liebersohn, Constantine Yannelis, and Samuel Earnest

Perceptions about Monetary Policy by Michael Bauer, Carolin Pflueger, and Adi Sunderam


Monday, January 15
7:00 a.m. – 7:15 a.m. Breakfast in Sundance
7:15 a.m. – 8:35 a.m. Session V: Household Credit
Session Chair:

Intergenerational Mobility and Credit by J. Carter Braxton, Nisha Chikhale, Kyle Herkenhoff, and Gordon Phillips

Collateral Damage by Mark Garmaise, Mark Jansen, and Adam Winegar

Conference Organizers

Jesse Davis
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Paolo Fulghieri
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Conference Venue

Snake River Lodge & SPA
7710 Granite Loop Road
Teton Village, WY 83025

Program Committee 

Jonathan Berk, Stanford University

Christa Bouwman, Texas A&M University

Jesse Davis, University of North Carolina

Andrea Eisfeldt, UCLA

Isil Erel, Ohio State University

Paolo Fulghieri, University of North Carolina

Mark Grinblatt, UCLA

Deborah Lucas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lubos Pastor, University of Chicago

Veronika Pool, Vanderbilt University

Adriano Rampini, Duke University

Matt Spiegel, Yale University

Anjan Thakor, Washington University

Margarita Tsoutsoura, Washington University in St. Louis

Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh, Columbia University

Contact for Administrative Questions

Marion Strandh
Conference Manager
UNC’s Kenan-Flagler Business School
CB #3440, Kenan Center, #300
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(O) 919-962-3174

JH Weather